All-DBAP Team: Manager Finalists

After we rounded out the All-DBAP Team a week ago, we turn our attention to the final spot on this historic squad: manager. This trio features an International League Hall of Famer, the winningest manager in DBAP Single-A history, and the franchise’s all-time winningest manager at any level.

After taking a glance at our finalists below, remember to vote for who you think is most-deserving of a spot on the All-DBAP Team by voting on the Bulls’ Facebook page. Simply leave a comment on Facebook with the name of your selection on the official finalist announcement post and you’re done!

Bill Evers


Bill Evers (left), with International League President Randy Mobley at his IL Hall of Fame induction on May 19, 2012. The Bulls retired Evers’ No. 20 jersey that same day.

The first Triple-A manager in Tampa Bay history, Bill Evers piloted the Bulls from 1998-2005. In that span he won a then-franchise record 613 games as the Bulls advanced to the postseason six times. Under Evers Durham won five division titles, while capturing the first two Governors’ Cups in franchise history in 2002 and 2003, posting a combined 12-1 playoff record those two seasons. From Durham he was promoted to Joe Maddon’s bench coach in 2006 and 2007, was a Rays’ professional scout in 2008 and 2009, and has been the Rays Minor League Field Coordinator since 2010. In 2012, the International League announced he had been inducted into its Hall of Fame, becoming the first Durham Bull to do so, and the franchise retired his No. 20 jersey later that year.

Career Record with Durham: 613-533 (.535) in eight seasons (1998-2005), six playoff berths, two Governors’ Cup championships

Randy Ingle


Ingle, shown here during his stint as manager of the Class A Rome Braves, is a member of the South Atlantic League Hall of Fame.

Of the three seasons the Bulls spent as a Single-A affiliate of the Atlanta Braves at the DBAP, Randy Ingle was the only manager to lead the squad to the postseason. In 1996 Durham finished 73-66, good for a berth in the Carolina League playoffs, where it fell to Kinston in the first round two games to one.

Career Record with Durham: 73-66 (.525) in one season (1996), one playoff berth

Charlie Montoyo


Charlie Montoyo (center, #25), celebrates the Bulls’ 2013 Governors’ Cup championship over the Pawtucket Red Sox in Rhode Island.

From 2007-2014 Charlie Montoyo won 633 games as Bulls’ manager, the most in franchise history. Over those eight seasons Durham captured seven division championships, won two Governors’ Cup titles (2009, 2013) and earned its lone Triple-A National Championship Game victory in 2009. The skipper advanced to six Governors’ Cup finals, the most in league history, while winning 80 games or more five times. In his tenure with the Bulls, he was named IL Manager of the Year twice (2010, 2013), Baseball America’s Minor League Manager of the Year (2009) and Minor League Baseball’s Mike Coolbaugh Award winner (2009), given annually to an individual for their outstanding mentoring of young players. He was promoted to the Tampa Bay Rays as third base coach this past offseason.

Career Record with Durham: 633-515 (.551) in eight seasons (2007-2014), seven playoff berths, two Governors’ Cup championships, one Triple-A National Championship

You can cast your vote here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: